66 years ago Bevo Francis scored 113 points in a college basketball game

66-years ago today. One of college basketball’s greatest games featured a scoring wizard named Bevo Francis. He played for the Rio Grande Redmen at little Rio Grande College in Ohio’s Appalachian hill country. Francis scored 113 points in a 40-minute regulation game against Michigan’s Hillsdale College. That was before the 3-point line in college basketball. Rio Grande won 134-91 and Francis broke his own small college scoring record of 84 points set two weeks earlier against Pennsylvania’s Alliance College.  Here’s a snippet from my documentary “They Could Really Play the Game: Reloaded”on the historic team.

 

About Bernard McCoy

My views are my own and not a reflection of my employer. I'm a professor of Journalism at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln. I've also been a working journalist for the past 29 years. I have covered news stories in war zones, reported on human and natural disasters, presidential conventions, a presidential inauguration and the September 11th, 2001 attack on the World Trade Center in New York City. My career experiences include work as an award-winning documentary producer, television news reporter, photographer, producer, and anchor. I worked at WIBW-TV, Topeka, KS., KCTV, Kansas City, MO, WKBD-TV, Detroit, MI., WILX-TV, Lansing, MI. and WBNS-TV, Columbus, OH. I have also worked as a contributing reporter for The Columbus Dispatch, Associated Press, CBS, CNN, the Ohio News Network and lecture at the Kosovo Institute of Journalism and Communications. I have a bachelor’s degree in journalism from the University of Kansas and a master’s degree in telecommunications management from Michigan State University.
This entry was posted in Journalism. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment