Off and Running

Associate Professor Barney McCoy

Associate Professor Barney McCoy

Greetings!

My name is Barney McCoy.

I’m an Associate Professor of Journalism at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln. I have helped teach our new media journalism course for the past three years. It’s thrilling to work with students looking for new, pioneering ways to shape news content on the Internet. This blog is one step in that direction.

Why this? I’ll be blogging about journalism and all the revolutionary changes swirling around the news industry these days. Many of my newspaper and broadcasting friends worry that this is the end to journalism as we have known it for decades. Some journalism students worry whether they’ll be able to compete for the best jobs in a journalism world that demands greater technical savvy than ever.

I’m optimistic. Indeed, these are exciting times. There is risk and opportunity.

I first became excited about the possibilities of the Internet in 1994 when I used it as a platform at WILX-TV in Lansing, Michigan to discuss current events with 400 teachers and their students in elementary and middle schools in Michigan. In 1996, the Internet was the basis of my master’s thesis that explored television, the Internet and education.

Between 1999 and 2006, I had the wonderful opportunity to work as a “converged” journalist as I helped create content for the Web sites of WBNS-TV in Columbus, Ohio and the Columbus Dispatch newspaper and their primary properties. I found that many exciting opportunities can empower journalists via the Internet and the broader global audiences they can serve. It’s a wonderful, powerful accountability tool for freedom of the press and free speech.

A little about me: I’ve been a working journalist for the past 29 years. Currently, I stay busy producing documentaries when I’m not teaching. Over the years I’ve reported in war zones, covered human and natural disasters, presidential conventions, one presidential inauguration and the September 11th, 2001 attack on the World Trade Center in New York City.

I’ve worked at WIBW-TV, Topeka, KS., KCTV, Kansas City, MO, WKBD-TV, Detroit, MI., WILX-TV, Lansing, MI. and WBNS-TV, Columbus, OH.

I’ve also worked as a contributing reporter for The Columbus Dispatch, Associated Press, CBS, CNN, the Ohio News Network and lectured on new media and convergence journalism at the Kosovo Institute of Journalism and Communications in 2006, 2007 and 2008.

2008 students at the Kosovo Institute of Journalism and Communications.

2008 students at the Kosovo Institute of Journalism and Communications.

I have a bachelor’s degree in journalism from the University of Kansas and a master’s degree in telecommunications management from Michigan State University.

About Bernard McCoy

My views are my own and not a reflection of my employer. I'm a professor of Journalism at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln. I've also been a working journalist for the past 29 years. I have covered news stories in war zones, reported on human and natural disasters, presidential conventions, a presidential inauguration and the September 11th, 2001 attack on the World Trade Center in New York City. My career experiences include work as an award-winning documentary producer, television news reporter, photographer, producer, and anchor. I worked at WIBW-TV, Topeka, KS., KCTV, Kansas City, MO, WKBD-TV, Detroit, MI., WILX-TV, Lansing, MI. and WBNS-TV, Columbus, OH. I have also worked as a contributing reporter for The Columbus Dispatch, Associated Press, CBS, CNN, the Ohio News Network and lecture at the Kosovo Institute of Journalism and Communications. I have a bachelor’s degree in journalism from the University of Kansas and a master’s degree in telecommunications management from Michigan State University.
This entry was posted in Journalism. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

